ABOUT US

Who we are

Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts is the most comprehensive organization in the UAE to empower underprivileged women through sustainable crafts. In 2006, Her Highness Sheikha Shamsa bint Hamdan Al Nahyan, the Emirates Red Crescent President’s Assistant for Women’s Affairs, set out to provide women with training, designs, raw materials, and marketing services to create culturally inspired products to assist them in earning a dignified living and sustain traditional crafts. Boasting more than 200 craftswomen, from different nationalities and ages, Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts has multiple product lines such as corporate gifts, stationery, home accessories, and fashion.

Our Vision

To be the leading entity to empower underprivileged women in the UAE through sustainable crafts

Our Mission

To empower women in our community by providing them with resources that enable them to produce culturally inspired products to secure a good living

Our Values

Inclusion
We are one family, and have a strong sense of belonging. We respect and value each and every woman in our community, and provide endless support and commitment to one another to succeed

Creativity
We are all creative and innovative beings. We are uniquely talented, but together, we have the power to create beautiful craftsmanship that can truly preserve local crafts and echo the country’s heritage

Empowerment
We are curious women. We are smart women. We are brave women. Everyday, we are crafting our way to a better world, with each skill we learn, and each product we sell


blog

Services & Products

Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts offers various services and products to empower women through crafts and promote Emirati crafts. First, we provide training on Emirati crafts such as Sadu, Telli, Khoos, wool spinning, pottery, sewing, henna, and others for the community at our workshop and other locations. Complementary training is provided to underprivileged women who are registered at Al Ghadeer to enable them to produce product which we sell for them through our online store, our location, government entities and private companies, and shopping centers, and tourist locations. The craftswomen directly benefit from the sales which raises their living standard. We also provide training to the wider community for the next generation to adopt to sustain Emirati crafts and make them contemporary. Second, we supply locally handmade Emirati products that are suitable for residents and tourists. Our various products are of high quality and authentic design. Third, for occasions and events we provide Emirati crafts’ demonstrations where views are captivated and engaged in the intricate and beautiful crafts being made live. Fourth, we send out our #GhadeerAlKhair trolley to government entities and shopping centers in the UAE to raise awareness of the importance of empowering women in the UAE through crafts and preserving Emirati crafts.

About HH Sheikha Shamsa bint Hamdan Al Nahyan

HH Sheikha Shamsa Bint Hamdan Bin Mohammad Al Nahyan, wife of HH Sheikh Hamdan Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Ruler’s Representative in Al Dhafra Region and Chairman of the Red Crescent Authority earned a Bachelor‘s Degree in Law and Sharia from UAE University. Her Highness holds many posts, including Vice President of the Red Crescent for Women’s Affairs; President of Women & Health Alliance International (WAHA); Chairman of the Higher Committee for the Ataya Project; Honorary President of Abu Dhabi Autism Centre; Honorary President of the Emirates Autism Society, President of Women and Society Committee inAl Dhafra Region and Patron of the educational programs at the Abu Dhabi Music & Arts Foundation.

“I am proud of our craftswomen and the quality of their products that are handmade in the UAE. More than a decade has passed of equipping hundreds of women in the UAE with crafts and confidence to produce handmade pieces that are sold to finance their ambitions. Join me in taking our mission of women empowerment through crafts to another level”

HH Sheikha Shamsa bint Hamdan Al Nahyan
Founder of Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts

Governance

Under the Federal Law No. (9) of 2002, the Emirates Red Crescent was established. Article 5 provides for the establishment of charitable projects and attention to the social issues of widows, orphans, the elderly and people with special needs. Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts was created in 2006 under the umbrella of the Emirates Red Crescent as an initiative of Her Highness Sheikha Shamsa bint Hamdan Al Nahyan, the Assistant President of the Emirates Red Crescent for Women's Affairs to support women with limited incomes in the UAE.

Our Story

Women all over the world are supporting themselves and their families with their crafts as a form of economic empowerment. Skills and knowledge, instead of formal education, play a fundamental role in the economic growth and social development for these women. In the United Arab Emirates, we truly believe in serving our community and ensuring that we are positively impacting the lives of underprivileged women in the UAE. We create opportunities for talented women to acquire skills that can help improve their lives and raise their standard of living. We also preserve traditional crafts and local culture through the production of high quality, handmade contemporary products that are authentically Emirati.

Under the visionary leadership of Her Highness Sheikha Shamsa bint Hamdan Al Nahyan, the Emirates Red Crescent President’s Assistant for Women’s Affairs, Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts organization was founded in 2006 to offer vocational training aimed at developing the knowledge and skills of underprivileged women in the UAE to ensure them with a dignified life. The organization expands on their crafts, teaches them new technical skills and supplies them with the raw materials and designs to create culturally inspired products that are sold locally and internationally.

Our journey started with just three craftswomen working in an office at the Emirates Red Crescent producing a few products. Today, we are the most comprehensive women empowerment by crafts entity in the UAE. Our craftswomen community boasts more than 200 craftswomen, local and expat across all the emirates, producing more than 90 products ranging from corporate gifts, stationery, home accessories, and a fashion line. Our care includes financial, social, health and education related and more ways of flourishing craftswomen’s lives.

In the past 10 years, we worked with hundreds of craftswomen in the UAE and witnessed their incomes multiply, where some launched their own home businesses. Before joining Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts these women were without an income and fully dependent on others for their financial security. With our continuous support, they receive training, mentorship, and marketing where by producing just a few baskets and dolls, a craftswoman can earn a sustainable income to cover some of her needs.

Meaning of "Al Ghadeer"

In Arabic, “Al Ghadeer” means a body of water that forms on the ground after rain or a flood. People, animals and trees of the desert especially cherish water as they can nourish themselves to survive. We strive to have Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts as the place where the lives of craftswomen and crafts in the UAE flourish. We fully devote ourselves to empowering women through sustainable crafts and are committed to investing in a better world. Under our guidance, the women gain self-confidence from their newly discovered talents, independence from abusive relationships, and most importantly financial security because they can now support themselves and their children’s health and education aspirations. As the old Emirati proverb says, “a drop on a drop becomes a “Ghadeer” and continuous improvement and hard work however small results in a greater good. .

Craftswomen Registration Process

1- Formal documents needed:

- Emirates ID
- Copy of passport
- Personal photo
- Copy of family book (For Emirati Nationals)
- Copy of residence visa

2- General Information:

- Number of children
- Area of residence
- Level of education
- Age
- Crafts (if any)

3- If you are skilled at any of the local crafts such as Al Khoos, Al Telli, or Al Sadu, Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts places an order for the crafted goods.

If you are not skilled in these crafts, Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts gladly provides guidance and training depending on your wishes and level of skill and ability. After providing training, Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts places orders for the crafted goods.

Please Note: To be eligible to join Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts the candidate must not be:
1- Younger than the legal age of 18 years old
2- An owner of a private business that’s comparable to Al Ghadeer UAE Crafts
3- A craftswoman with a high income

عن الغدير

من نحن

الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية أشمل مؤسسة في الإمارات لتمكين النساء ذوات الدخل المحدود من خلال الحِرف المستدامة حيث سعت سمو الشيخة شمسة بنت حمدان آل نهيان، مساعد سمو رئيس هيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي للشؤون النسائية، في عام 2006 لتوفير التدريب والتصميم والمواد الخام وخدامات التسويق للنساء لتصنيع منتجات بطابع محلي بهدف عونهن على كسب حياة كريمة والحفاظ على الحِرف التراثية. يتجاوز عدد حرفيات الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية 200 حِرفية من أنحاء الإمارات، مواطنة ومقيمة بأعمار متفاوتة، ويصنعن منتجات متنوعة منها هدايا وتوزيعات الشركات والقرطاسية وزينة المنزل والأزياء.

رؤيتنا

أن نكون المؤسسة الرائدة في تمكين النساء ذوات الدخل المحدود في الإمارات من خلال حِرف مستدامة

مهمتنا

تمكين نساء مجتمعنا بتوفير ما يحتجنه من دعم لصنع منتجات بطابع محلي لنيل حياة كريمة

قيمنا

الاحتواء
جميعنا نكون أسرة واحدة لديها شعور بالانتماء، نقدر ونحترم بعضنا البعض وجميع نساء المجتمع، ونسعى للتفاني في تقديم الدعم اللا محدود للسعي إلى النجاح

الإبداع
جميعنا مبدعات ومبتكرات، نتميز بمهاراتنا ومواهبنا المختلفة ومعاً نصنع حرف جميلة تعكس طابعنا المحلي حفاظاً على تراثنا

التمكين
جميعنا نتسم بالشغف للمعرفة والذكاء والشجاعة، فإننا دائماً نسعى لصنع غد أفضل مع كل حرفة نتعلمها وكل منتج نبيعه


blog

خدماتنا ومنتجاتنا

تقدم مؤسسة الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية خدمات ومنتجات مختلفة لتمكين المرأة في من خلال الحرف اليدوية وترويج الحرف الإماراتية للمجتمع. أولاً، نقدم التدريب على حرف إماراتية مثل حرف السدو والخوص والتلي والخياطة والغزل والفخار والحناء وغيرها لحرفيات الغدير ولعامة المجتمع داخل وخارج مقر الغدير. نوفر تدريب مجاني للنساء ذوات الدخل المحدود (المنتسبات للمؤسسة) لانتاج منتجات المعاصرة بطابع تراثي ولاحقا تتولى المؤسسة التسويق والترويج لها عبر منافذ بيعها من خلال متجر إلكتروني ومقر الغدير والجهات الحكومية والشركات الخاصة والمحلات التجارية والأماكن السياحية. العائد من بيع المنتجات يسهم في تحسين مستوى معيشة الحرفيات بشكل مباشر. أيضاً نقدم التدريب على الحرف لعامة المجتمع ليتبناها الجيل القادم لاستدامة الحرف التراثية ومواكبتها عصرنا الحالي. ثانياً، نوفر منتجات مصنوعة يدوياً في الإمارات بطابع محلي يناسب سكان الإمارات وضيوفها. منتجاتنا ذات جودة عالية بتصاميم مميزة ومتنوعة. ثالثاً، للمناسبات والفعاليات نقدم خدمة عرض صناعة الحرف التراثية حيث يبهرن حرفياتنا المشاهدين بدقة وجمال عملهن على الحرف. رابعاً، يمكن للجهات الحكومية أو المراكز التجارية استضافة عربة #غديرـالخير التي تتجول في مواقع مختلفة في الدولة لزيادة وعي المجتمع بأهمية تمكين المرأة من خلال الحرف والحفاظ على الحرف الإماراتية.

عن الشيخة شمسة بنت حمدان آل نهيان

سمو الشيخة شمسة بنت حمدان بن محمد آل نهيان حرم سمو الشيخ حمدان بن زايد آل نهيان ممثل الحاكم في منطقة الظفرة- رئيس هيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي - . حاصله على شهادة البكالوريوس في تخصص الشريعة والقانون من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.تشغل سموها العديد من المناصب الرسمية والشرفية منها : مساعد لرئيس هيئة الهلال الأحمر للشؤون النسائية، ورئيس مؤسسة التحالف الدولي لصحة المرأة (واحا) ، ورئيس اللجنة العليا لمشروع عطايا، والرئيس الفخري لمركز أبوظبي للتوحد ، والرئيس الفخري لجمعية الإمارات للتوحد ، و راعي البرامج التعليمية في مجموعة أبوظبي للثقافة والفنون، و رئيس اللجنة النسائية لشؤون المرأة والمجتمع في منطقة الظفرة .

“نفتخر بحرفياتنا على إنتاجيتهن وجودة منتجاتهن المصنوعة يدوياً في الإمارات. أكثر من 10 سنوات مضت في تزويد مئات النساء في الإمارات بالحِرف والثقة لصناعة منتجات يدويه ريعها يموّل طموحاتهن. شاركونا في أخذ مهمتنا لتمكين المرأة من خلال الحِرف إلى مستوى آخر #بالحرف_نمكن”

سمو الشيخة شمسة بنت حمدان آل نهيان
مؤسس الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية

الحوكمة

بمقتضى القانون الاتحادي رقم (9) لسنة 2002 تم إنشاء هيئة الهلال الأحمر لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والتي تنص المادة رقم 5 بند 3- اقامة المشاريع الخيرية والاهتمام بالقضايا الاجتماعية للأرامل واليتامى والمسنين وذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة ، ولم شمل الأسر المشتتة . وعليه تم إنشاء مؤسسة الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية في عام 2006 تحت مظلة الهيئة بمبادرة من سمو الشيخة شمسة بنت حمدان آل نهيان، مساعد سمو رئيس هيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي للشؤون النسائية لدعم النساء ذوات الدخل المحدود في الإمارات.

قصتنا

الكثير من النساء حول العالم يقمن بإعالة أسرهن بأنفسهن من خلال الحِرف اليدوية حيث يعتمدن على مواهبهن ومهاراتهن في الحِرف اليدوية وإن لم يكن يملكن المؤهلات التعليمية لتمكين أنفسهن مادياً واجتماعياً في مجتمعاتهن. في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة نحن نؤمن بخدمة مجتمعنا ونسعى لترك بصمة إيجابية في حياة النساء ذوات الدخل المحدود في الإمارات حيث أننا نخلق فرص لكل من تملك مهارات تؤهلها إلى تحسين مستواها المعيشي. ونحافظ على الحِرف الإماراتية والتراث المحلي من خلال صناعة منتجات يدوية معاصرة بطابع إماراتي ذات جودة عالية مطلوبة في الأسواق المحلية والعالمية. .

بفكر رائد من سمو الشيخة شمسة بنت حمدان آل نهيان، مساعد سمو رئيس هيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي للشؤون النسائية، في عام 2006 أنشأت مؤسسة الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية التي تهدف لتوفير التدريب المهني لتطوير المهارات والمعرفة لدى النساء ذوات الدخل المحدود في الإمارات لضمان لهن حياة كريمة. المؤسسة تعلمهن حِرف ومهارات جديدة، وتوفر المواد الخام والتصاميم لهن لتصنيع منتجات معاصرة بطابع تراثي التي يتم تسويقها محلياً وعالمياً.

في بداية المشوار، كان فريق العمل يتكون من ثلاثة حِرفيات في مكتب في هيئة الهلال الأحمر الإماراتي ينتجن عدد محدود من المنتجات. اليوم نحن أشمل جهة لتمكين المرأة من خلال الحرف في الإمارات. تتكون أسرتنا من أكثر من 200 حِرفية من أنحاء الإمارات، مواطنة ومقيمة، ونقوم بتوفير أكثر من 90 منتج منها هدايا وتوزيعات الشركات والقرطاسية وزينة المنزل والأزياء. اهتمامنا يشمل عناصر ازدهار حياة الحرفية من الجانب المادي والاجتماعي والصحي والتعليمي وأكثر.

خلال العشر السنوات الماضية لقد قمنا بالعمل مع مئات الحِرفيات في الإمارات وشهدنا متوسط دخل الحِرفية يتضاعف حيث أن البعض انطلق بمشاريعه الخاصة. قبل الانضمام إلى الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية كانت هؤلاء النساء يعتمدن على آخرين من أجل مدخولهن، ولكن مع دعمنا المستمر بالتدريب والإرشاد والتسويق بمجرد صنع بعض من الدمى والسلال يمكن لحِرفية كسب مدخول مستمر يغطي بعض احتياجاتها.

معنى الغدير

معنى اسم الغدير هو المياه المتجمعة التي يتركها المطر أو السيل. يتطلع ويتلهف سكان الصحراء من البشر والحيوانات والنباتات للمياه حيث يرتوا منها ليعيشوا. نحن نسعى أن تصبح مؤسسة الغدير للحرف الإماراتية مكان ازدهار حياة الحرفيات والحرف الإماراتية ونكرس أنفسنا لتمكين النساء من خلال حِرف مستدامة ونسعى للاستثمار في غد أفضل. فإننا نمكنهن بعونهن على الشعور بالثقة بمهاراتهن المكتسبة، ونيل الاستقلال للتحرر من ظروفهن المجتمعية الصعبة، والأكثر أهمية، نقدم لهن السند المالي الذي يمكنهن من إعالة أنفسهن وأسرهن لدعم طموحاتهن وأطفالهن الصحية والدراسية. كما يقول المثل الإماراتي" قطرة على قطرة تصير غدير" وهي من الأمثال التي تدعو على المثابرة والجد والعمل المتواصل مهما كان صغيراً.

طريقة تسجيل الحِرفيات

١- أن تحضر الحِرفية الأوراق الرسمية:

- الهوية
- صورة جواز السفر
- صورة شخصية
- صورة خلاصة القيد للمواطنة
- صورة الإقامة للمقيمة

٢- نقوم بأخذ معلومات عنها مثل:

- عدد الأبناء
- مكان السكن
- مستوى التعليم
- العمر
- مستوى مهاراتها الحِرفية

٣- إذا كانت تملك حِرفة مثل الخوص أو التلي أو السدو يقوم الغدير بتأمين لها الطلبية الخاصة بالحِرفة أما إذا كانت لا تعرف أي حِرفة يقوم الغدير بتعليمها بما يناسب ما هي ترغب به وحسب إمكانيتها وقدرتها. بعد المرور في التدريب والانتهاء منه يقوم الغدير بتأمين طلبية للحِرفية

ملاحظة: لا تنظم لمؤسسة الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية:
١- حِرفية أقل من السن القانوني وهو ١٨ عام
٢- حِرفية لديها مشروع خاص ومشابه لمؤسسة الغدير للحِرف الإماراتية
٣- حِرفية تكون من ذوي الدخل المرتفع